January according to my iphone

PicMonkey Collage 1PicMonkey Collage 2PicMonkey Collage 3PicMonkey Collage 4PicMonkey CollagePicMonkey Collage 6

What a month… filled with plenty of fun times with friends, literally no shopping (wuhoo!) and getting back in shape through running and cycling classes.

The fact that it’s January 31st makes me look back and reflect on some of the goals I made for 2014.

First, new challenges at work: Well I said my role at work was changing and indeed it has changed AGAIN. With a co-worker leaving our department for better opportunities elsewhere our department is shifting yet again and of course my role is being redefined. I’ll be getting more responsibilities, which is awesome but at the same time a little nerve-wracking only because I am stepping into new territory. February will be a lot of “firsts” for me. I am 90% excited and 10% scared out of my mind.

Second, new routines: Thanks to my girlfriend Maryam for keeping me coming to cycling classes Β (I’ll eventually write a post about what that’s like) and Andrew for making me do hill work I have to say I am changing up my regular exercise routine and giving my body the shock it needs to build some muscle! Now I just have to get used to doing sit-ups and push-ups (I hate doing those!).

Third, a new space: As I said here, this is one goal I had to break (and so early in the year too). We’re no longer apartment hunting, but we are going to still try and create the illusion of a new space by staying in our current basement suite by making some cosmetic changes.

Four, a new outlook on everyday life… aka stop shopping and start living: Well I have to say I have gone an entire month without buying ANY CLOTHES! or shoes or accessories! In fact the only thing I have bought has been some make-up using a leftover gift card from Christmas and a yoga towel for $40 for my hot yoga classes. That’s pretty good, right? I plan to make February a no shopping month as well.

Five, a new blogging perspective: I tried to be really consistent with blog posts this month and for the most part I succeeded. As a blogger, I find posting daily is too much for me but blogging three times a week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) works best for me. And with the exception of this past week I am happy to say I blogged three times each week this month.

How are you doing so far with your goals for 2014?

I hope you have a great weekend! We’re of course watching the Super Bowl on Sunday. I’ll be cheering for the Seahawks while Andrew is cheering for the Broncos. This could get ugly…

10 thoughts on “January according to my iphone

  1. So, is the new responsibility at work comes with a raise? I am trying to keep up with my goals but it is damn hard… it is so freakin cold here that all i want to do is sit wrap up in a blankie and watch movies….:-)

  2. mac-n-cheese trucks? holy cow that looks like fun – and spinning makes it so you can keep going back for more πŸ™‚ and congrats to you on keep with the clothes- that’s motivation πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

