training for my 4th half marathon: why this one will be different

running-man

This winter and spring I plan to push myself out of my comfort zone. I’ll be running my 4th half marathon but this time I’ll be running for a serious PB or what runners like to call a Personal Best.

I started running half marathons in 2012 and have crossed the finish line anywhere between 2:20 and 2:37. My attitude towards running was always to do it for the sake of doing it. That’s right, I am one of those crazy people who actually loves running. During previous half marathon training regimens I’ve never timed myself, aimed for faster splits, or done intervals to increase my overall speed. I’ve just enjoyed the run and felt happy simply crossing the finish line. I still think this is a great attitude to have towards running any race. But now I want more. I not only want to cross the finish line but I want to cross the finish line knowing I gave it my all.Ā 

Although I am comfortable running, I am not comfortable running fast. I always get afraid I won’t be able to maintain the speed for a long period of time. And that fear prevents me from pushing myself; from testing my limits. Even when I ran cross country in high school I played it safe. I was naturally a good runner, but what if I really pushed myself… could I have gone faster and finished first? Perhaps I could have been a great runner, instead of just a good one.

Fast forward to today and this whole idea of pushing myself out of my comfort zone translates past running and into my everyday life. I mentioned awhile back that I am taking on some new roles at work that excite me but at the same time make me a little nervous, only because I have never had that much responsibility in my department before. Fear of the unknown I think is a natural human instinct, but I don’t think it’s an excuse to doubt our abilities. It’s like the magnet on my fridge says, “If you’re going to doubt anything, doubt your limits.” Thanks Don Ward — who apparently said that according to the people who made the magnet– I now have a nice inspirational reminder every morning.

So my goal is to finish at 2:10. That’s shaving 10 minutes off my previous PB, which is huge in the running world. But I believe I can do it. To achieve my goal I am trying a new training method thanks to the Running Room. I’ll be running 4-5 times a week leading up to May 4th when I run the BMO Half Marathon. The biggest different is that I’ll be incorporating the 10 and 1 technique for my long runs: running 10 minutes and walking 1 minute. This is also how I plan to run the race. A co-worker suggested the strategy to me after she said she ran her first half marathon in 2:44 by running the race normally (or at a steady pace the entire time) and now she can run the race in under 2 hours using the 10 minutes on, 1 minute off strategy. I figure its worth a shot.

I’ll let you know how my training goes! I don’t know if I’ll provide a training update every week but I plan to update everyone at least once a month (maybe more if readers are interested).

Are you currently training for a half marathon right now? What training schedule are you using?

11 thoughts on “training for my 4th half marathon: why this one will be different

    • Thanks! And I wil keep everyone in the loop! After talking with other people who have done in the 10 and 1 there’s a lot of mixed feelings– some people love it (like my co-worker) and some people hate it. Should be interesting!

  1. I’m really excited to follow along! I ran my first 1/2 in November in 2:33 and that was with a steady pace, stopping to walk through water stations. I’m basically following the same strategy for my next one in March. I was on track to run a 10:40 pace in my first 1/2 and my training is basically going the same way this time around. I’m shooting for 2:20 this time, but we’ll see what happens. I’ve always been curious if walking breaks do help so it will be interesting to see how you make out with your new strategy! Best of luck to you šŸ™‚

    • Thanks emilie marie! You and me both! It’s funny how some people swear by the 10 minute and 1 minute method. I’ve also heard some people run 10k, walk 1k and run that last 10k too… there are so many ways to run, that I think its best to find the method that works best for you. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  2. Right on Ash!! You can absolutely get a PB!!! I have a few friends who use the 10-1 method and really enjoy it! That 1 minute makes a big difference in your energy to tackle the next 10 minutes! It also breaks the run up into really manageable chunks :). Happy training – you’ll do a great job!! I’m also considering to run the BMO half in May, so maybe see you there!!!

Leave a Reply

