growing old together

grid-cell-10595-1388701790-11

grid-cell-10595-1388701789-9

grid-cell-25501-1388701693-31

grid-cell-11465-1388701813-8

grid-cell-1892-1388701684-12

grid-cell-17123-1388701654-9

grid-cell-25501-1388701694-33

Photos courtesy of Cambria Grace Photography 

When I saw these pics on buzzfeed I knew I had to share. Here are just some of the photos from the article celebrating a couple’s 61st wedding anniversary. 61 years!!! The photographer used the movie UP as inspiration to create a seriously romantic photoshoot. Go ahead, read the article and try not to smile… I bet you can’t.

The idea of growing old is kind of scary, but its less scary knowing I have Andrew to do it with. It’s like Adam Sandler says to Drew Barrymore so eloquently through this song in the movie The Wedding Singer. Wouldn’t it be nice to grow old with you?

In fact one of the things that made me realize I could be ok growing old with Andrew is when I figured out I could completely be myself around him… and I mean completely… no holding back… for better or for worse kind of thing. For example, I think the minute you can fart in front of your partner or go for weeks without shaving your legs or stink up the bathroom and realize they still love you… then you’re golden. You’ve got it made. Because you know they are going to love you (all of you) through just about anything, including sagging boobies one day. Yup, I just said boobies. It’s a way more fun word than breasts. And the word tits just sounds dirty.

But really, is there a secret to growing old together? In this huffpost article couples try to answer that very question. Number 4 on the list is my all-time favorite:

“Never discuss sensitive subjects when hungry or tired. And eat marshmallows to improve communication. What’s the one thing you can’t possibly do with a mouthful of marshmallows? Talk. Communication is more about listening than talking. I tell my wife, if something I say can be interpreted two ways and one of those ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.” Steven has been married to Sheryl for 20 years (Longwood, FL).

Looks like I better go buy some marshmallows…

Do you have a secret to a long lasting marriage or relationship?

10 thoughts on “growing old together

  1. such happy photographs — i love the savings jar for adventures. and a key for a lasting relationship? keep dating each other, work at making each other laugh, and talk talk talk talk 🙂

  2. 29 years and counting – secret…..compromise and respect. These two things will take you far because to me with them, love is a give-in.

  3. I think keeping in mind the men are from Mars theory is pretty important in ‘dealing ‘ with our beloved ones!! There are usually two ways of looking at everything and chances are men will choose the other one? Bear that in mind when suggesting ideas? Knowing when to keep quiet too, after all, we know we’re right, right? We’re 44 years down the road and still happy together xxxx

    • Haha, very true. Sometimes I think Andrew is crazy but you’re right I have to remember he’s just from a different planet 😉 Congrats to u and Brian– 44 years!!! xo

Leave a Reply

