our holiday vacation to cali part 2

The second half of our trip involved traveling a lot on the highway (soooo much traffic!!! The only downside to California I have to admit) to check out many of Southern California’s main attractions like the famous Hotel Del Coronado on Coronado Island, a San Diego Chargers Game at Qualcomm stadium and of course… Disneyland. You can always see photos from part 1 of our trip to cali here.
IMG_9450
<<we got all dressed up one night and headed to the 1500 Ocean restaurant at Hotel Del Coronado for dinner>>
IMG_9367IMG_9368IMG_9369IMG_9370

IMG_9417

<<after many attempts I finally got my nice dress up holiday photo with monkey>>

IMG_9422

<<and one for the photo album with the best brother-in-law>>

IMG_2157IMG_2172IMG_2150

<<we saw one the most exciting NFL games of the year in San Diego>>

IMG_2365IMG_2381IMG_2346

<<and we rang in the New Year at Disneyland with family and friends>>

I’m originally from the Midwest but after this trip I may have been a Cali girl at heart. I will be back! In fact, we’re even entertaining the idea of convincing ย my parents to spend the holidays down south next year. Next time I want to visit Old Town, the San Diego Zoo and try surfing.

Have you ever been to the San Diego area? What do you recommend checking out?

19 thoughts on “our holiday vacation to cali part 2

  1. Brilliant idea! One of my favorite things to do, besides those already listed by you & Shelley, is the hop on hop off trolley tour of San Diego!

  2. Extraordinary Desserts, The fish tacos at South Beach Bar in Ocean Beach, Seal Beach in La Jolla, ‘Whisknladle’ in La Jolla, The food trucks at the Costa Mesa Fair Grounds (Orange County), a walk around Balboa Island (Also Orange County – Especially if you’re there at Christmas time! Go at night. Many houses are WAY decked out with lights for Christmas.) I can come up with plenty more if you’re interested…

      • What kinds of stuff do you want to do? Balboa Park is always a great place to walk around. That is next to the Zoo. Definitely do the zoo and Wild Animal Park…but I think you already mentioned those were on your list. Birch Aquarium can be fun. There are some GREAT tide pools where you can see all kinds of animals around Laguna. I have some photos of that here: http://sarahsjoys.com/2013/03/18/laguna-beach-tide-pools/ That’s farther north but it’s worth doing. Or look up tide pool schedules at Scripps beach if you don’t want to go north to do that. I think that can be a good time of year for whale watching too. That’s on our list for taking the girls some time. (Look for groupons for that to save money!) If you want good hikes or more restaurant recommendations let me know.

  3. Oh! And Little Italy has some completely amazing gelato and restaurants and is just kind of fun to walk around. As is the Gaslamp district. Andy and I had a fantastic anniversary dinner at Acqua Al 2 in Gaslamp one year. Top of the Hyatt is a great bar if you want a drink with gorgeous views of the city. I think it’s on the 40th floor. Sorry…so many fun memories, I just keep thinking of things you could check out! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Awww, thanks so much for sharing!! I think San Diego and Southern California in general is a place I see us visiting multiple times in the future so its great to know there is so much to do!

Leave a Reply

