on the subject of… calling the parents

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADSC_4538

We go see a movie and afterwards Andrew calls his parents to tell them how it was. Andrew coaches a junior rugby team every Sunday and that afternoon his parents call him to ask how it went. We play on our co-ed flag football team on Tuesday nights and later that night Andrew is on the phone telling them play-by-play how our game went.

Andrew talks to his parents just about everyday. I, on other hand, talk to my parents about once a week. Sometimes once every two weeks if we forget. It doesn’t mean I love my parents any less. We just don’t feel the need to talk to each other all the time.

Andrew insists that’s not normal. He doesn’t understand how I don’t talk to my parents as often as he does. Let me clarify here in case it wasn’t clear– our parents don’t live near us. My parents are back in Michigan and his parents are currently touring the U.S.A. in their motorhome (and blogging about it here). Phone calls and some emails here and there are how we keep in touch. Andrew and his parents are just more frequent at it than my parents and I are.

Andrew’s theory is that my family and I just aren’t as emotional. “Your mom and you never cry,” he asserts. “Whereas my mother cries all the time,” he says. It’s true, my mother in law cries in romantic films, during sad commercials, or when she’s saying good bye to her boys at the airport. “We’re just more emotional, so we need to talk to each other all the time.”

He has a point. My mother didn’t even cry at our wedding. But I don’t think I have ever seen her cry, so it doesn’t surprise me. “So what you’re saying,” I begin, “is your family needs that emotional support of talking to each other everyday and my family doesn’t because we are made of stone?” I ask accusingly.

“Yes!” Andrew laughs. “I mean no…” he corrects himself.

How often do you call your parents?

10 thoughts on “on the subject of… calling the parents

  1. This is just too funny! Our family = Andrew’s family= calls everyday or more and I shed the tears just like Shelly! Both of my kids ( Dan and Tracey) have significant others who = your family; a call a week is enough! No tears! I cry during the Kodak commercials. But I also cry when I am around Shelly and John because they make me laugh so hard. I would say no family is better than the other; but as you said, just express their emotions differently. Great blog! Say hi to Andrew from Old Lady Williams, ISB.

  2. Shelley, did you really start crying after reading the first sentence…..hmmm. Okay enough, I will start crying all the time now and everyone will be SORRY!!!!! πŸ™‚

  3. such a fun post, i can just imagine the two of you bantering over this and that over blueberry pancakes. jon talks to his parents every single day, but i’m probably.. well.. 1 once a week (like, you, every 2 if i forget). the funny thing is my family is much more emotionally needy (both our parents sobbed and sobbed at the wedding). i think it has something to do with a ‘need to gab’ factor. jon’s parents love to chat πŸ™‚

Leave a comment