turn your old bridesmaid dresses into halloween costumes

SONY DSC

photo courtesy of Marie McGrath (thejoyoffashionblog.com)

If you’re in your late twenties, chances are you have a couple of bridesmaid dresses gathering dust in your closet like me. Sure… the bride told you she chose the style because you could hem it short and wear it again, but she lied. You never got it altered and you haven’t worn it since you danced your booty off at her wedding.

Well it’s time to get at least one more wear out of them! It’s 10 days until Halloween and as I was looking at my closet full of clothes and seeing if there was a way to creatively turn something I already own into an amazing diy costume, it hit me!

I have a couple gorgeous long bridesmaids dresses that I forgot I owned because I thought I would never wear them again! So I started thinking, what costumes involve long, slightly fancier, dresses? 

Here’s what I came up with:

SONY DSC

1. MEDUSA

What you’ll need:

– The right bridesmaid dress: a green or teal color

– What you’ll buy: some snake toy accessories to put in your hair and around your neck

– The final touches: gold jewelry and some green make up

Get more tips to create a great diy MEDUSA costume here.

queen of heats

Photo courtesy of Edgardo Arredondo

2. QUEEN OF HEARTS

What you’ll need:

– The right bridesmaid dress: a black or red satin dress

– What you’ll buy: a heart shaped crown and wand

– The final touches: a deck of cards! you can even create an awesome collar like the one here

Get more tips to create a great diy QUEEN OF HEARTS costume here

carrie-costume-2999-jokec

3. CARRIE

What you’ll need:

– The right bridesmaid dress: a light colored dress, preferably in cream, pink or lilac

– What you’ll buy: a tiara, a (fake) bouquet of roses and a blonde wig

– The final touches: fake blood! Find a home recipe (like this one) and get ready to drench yourself

Get more tips to create a great diy CARRIE costume here

Now I just have to decide which one I want to be– right now it’s between CARRIE and MEDUSA. Don’t even ask what Andrew will be dressing up as… he, like always, will decide just before we have to head out the door to a Halloween party and quickly pull something together.

What are you being for Halloween this year?

11 thoughts on “turn your old bridesmaid dresses into halloween costumes

    • Haha! Nice! Carrie would be a good one but it might be a one time costume as I think it would be quite messy to create… I am leaning more towards Medusa at the moment …

Leave a Reply

