what would your teenage self think of your day job?

IMG_6284

IMG_6280

IMG_6290

IMG_6327

I had two dream jobs as a teenager… one involved working as an international journalist or working for an NGO overseas in war torn countries. The other involved working in a downtown high rise office building and wearing fancy clothes to work everyday. They couldn’t be more opposite visions.

Well, I feel as if I am fulfilling one of those dream jobs right now. Last week my company moved its operations downtown, right smack in the middle of Vancouver’s shopping district. My new work neighbors now include Victoria’s Secret, Hermes, Louis Vuitton and Tiffany & Co. Needless to say I will be leaving my credit card at home during the work week.

I think my teenage self would be pretty impressed. From a distance, I look to be climbing the corporate ladder. No corner office yet–but my very white and uniform cubicle will do for now. And I don’t mind dressing up for work, in fact I kind of like the excuse. But what about the part of me that wanted to save the world by putting myself in danger to help those in need? Where is she?

I think she’s still in there… she’s just not sure where to go from here. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from fellow colleagues, peers and mentors is that the days where an individual works the same job or even enjoys the same career for 30 plus years are gone. I love talking to older co-workers in the media industry because I am always amazed to hear their stories of how they got to where they are today. It’s nice to hear that some of them used to be as confused as I am. More often than not they ended up on a path to a job they never expected or never even knew existed when they started in their field years ago.

That’s what can be so exciting and so terrifying. Someone asked me the other day, where do you see yourself moving up in your company? And I had no clue. I work in media– and everyday the industry is changing, forcing me to adapt and change with it.

What I do know, is I am working in the industry I want a career in. I am working with a group of individuals whom I really admire. And I am working for one of the biggest media companies in Canada. But my future exact job title? I couldn’t tell you. The truth is, my adult self has more than simply two dream jobs these days–there’s several buzzing around in my head at once. I could still be a renowned journalist. But how about a big hot shot producer? Or author and blogger superstar? Or a digital branding and marketing maven? Of course being the next “Oprah” is never off the table. Plus, Andrew would make a good Stedman.

What would your teenage self think of your job today?

7 thoughts on “what would your teenage self think of your day job?

  1. what a wonderful post — i feel like we could be sitting in a coffee shop having this conversation together. and.. very interesting topic. i wanted to be an ambassador when i was in 6th grade, but my college i wanted to be a writer. the ambassador thing didn’t work out (haha, imagine that, right??) but i am working on a novel, and i feel very content that while my path is a little murky, i’m definitely heading in the right direction 🙂

    • That is so cool! Both the ambassador dream job and the novel. I feel most bloggers are writers at heart no matter what they do for their day job. And I feel the same way: don’t know where I am going but I think I am in the right place— hopefully this is normal? lol

  2. This is such a cute idea for a blog post. When I was leaving high school, I thought I wanted to be an accountant. But I’ve always been a writer, so I’m happy that I was able to naturally progress my career into one where I’m now writing/editing on a daily basis. If teen Cait had known she would’ve been writing about how to help people create/stick to their budgets, I have a feeling she’d be wow’d. 🙂

    • What a great reflection! It’s nice when you think your teen self would think your adult self cool!! It’s funny because when you are a teen coolness is everything!

Leave a Reply

