crossing the finish line

IMG_2566Fellow blogger and friend Gretchen and I with our SeaWheeze Medals at the finish line!

IMG_2568

IMG_2571

IMG_2573

IMG_2574Yoga by the thousands at the SeaWheeze Sunset Festival at Stanley Park post-race

One of the most amazing feelings in the world is crossing the finish line. Whenever I do at the end of a race–whether it be a 5k, 10k or Half-Marathon– I am immediately flooded with this feeling that I can accomplish anything I put my mind to. Anything.

On Saturday I ran my third half-marathon in Lululemon’s 2nd annual SeaWheeze Half-Marathon event and while I felt great crossing that finish line with my friend Gretchen (author of the mouth-watering blog gsnackingcruz) the week before I have to admit I was feeling pretty low. 

I found myself reflecting on the past year since I ran my first half-marathon (read about it here) and everything that had changed as well as everything that had stayed the same.  Instead of feeling proud or excited about the past year, my thoughts just went to all the things I hadn’t accomplished.

It goes back to that crossing the finish line feeling where you believe you can accomplish anything. Last year after I completed my first half-marathon, I crossed the finish line and immediately began thinking of all of the things I could accomplish if I could just put my mind to it. I left that race day feeling invincible. I could do anything, I thought! I will cure my shopaholic ways and spend less so I can save more. I will get a six pack like Beyonce and be one dress size smaller. I will attend yoga class three times a week and shop at farmers’ markets every weekend.

So you can imagine my disappointment when a year later my “I-can-do-anything-goals” didn’t all get crossed off my list. I can tell you I don’t spend any less and as a result my bank account doesn’t look that much better than it did a year ago. I definitely don’t have a six pack and I am not any tinier. I think I’ve attended 5 yoga classes (in total) this past year and I don’t remember the last time I went to a farmer’s market (maybe once… awhile ago… I might have bought apples?) Instead of a year of personal growth, I’ve felt I’ve had a year of stagnation. Ok… so I got married, which was kind of a big deal, obviously… but it still didn’t changed how I felt.

A week before my race all I felt was a personal disappointment about all the things I hadn’t accomplished. But after Saturday’s race I am once again filled with optimism and hope. I CAN achieve anything I put my mind to. As far as I am concerned crossing that finish line on Saturday was like ringing in the new year, turning another year older or the first day of school. It’s a fresh start and a chance to set some new personal goals for myself.

How to you keep track of personal goals? Do you make Lists? Do you give yourself rewards or set deadlines?

7 thoughts on “crossing the finish line

  1. Never mind the things that didn’t get crossed off your list, what about the things that did. You got married – that required an investment of time in planning! And in training for the half marathon, you are dedicated, motivated and of course fitter. Which have to be good points. Well done 🙂

  2. Congrats on your half marathon!! Anytime you run one of those it’s a HUGE accomplishment. Sometimes I think those sad, stagnant feelings are needed to give us the push in the right direction we need. Whenever I feel that way, I try and remember that life is a journey, and make small steps to get me back on track. I am also a HUGE list person 🙂

Leave a Reply

