a nautical night

IMG_1372

IMG_1368

The older I get, the tougher it is living so far away from family. When I was younger I couldn’t wait to be as far away from home as possible– not because I hate my family, but because I craved independence and a little adventure. But now I realize dependency isn’t such a bad thing, especially when you have people in your life who want to be near you to help you only because they love you.

This past weekend, Andrew and I took the ferry and drove up Vancouver Island to Comox Valley to visit the in-laws. It’s our perfect getaway from the big city… with plenty of camping sites, hiking trails, rivers to tube down and breathtaking mountain views.There’s something about a sleepy town like Comox that just makes me feel so relaxed and calm. But most importantly it feels great to feel taken care of by family.

If you ever find your self in Comox, be sure to check out Fisherman’s Wharf for fresh fish and other catches of the day… and right next to it is the Blackfin Pub, which is by far the best restaurant in town. It’s always packed, so make a reservation, but either way its worth the wait.

IMG_1341

IMG_1353

IMG_1356

IMG_1348

IMG_1317

Yes, in case you were wondering that’s my brother-in-law with a BATMAN belt buckle… he’s kind of obsessed. 🙂

6 thoughts on “a nautical night

  1. I totally understand where you are coming from – the older I get the more I appreciate my family. Glad you guys are close enough to make the weekend trip in! PS I love your outfit – the striped dress? Perfection!

  2. Great article. We are very jealous though that it was not about us but still very happy that you have the Smiths close by. Love and miss you lots and lots!

Leave a Reply

