that tricky life work balance thing

sushimeandhimkits beach

Not going to lie… lately I’ve had a hard time balancing everything on my plate. There were many times these past couple of months when I felt I was juggling too many balls in the air and as result, I let some of them drop, including this blog.

Between a busy and stressful couple of months at work, planning our wedding (which is happening in about a month!) and then trying to fit in time to train for my half marathon, I haven’t had energy to do much else.

When I did get a free moment, the last thing I wanted to do was sit in front of another computer and blog. Blog about what? I thought. I was exhausted! No, my free moments were spent watching Game of Thrones, New Girl and sleeping. But mostly sleeping.

So week after week went by without my presence on the blog, twitter or instagram (facebook was the only form of social media I seemed to be able to keep up with). And the more time went by the more guilty I felt for not being social online. And the more guilty I felt the less I wanted to start blogging again.

I admit, the thought crossed my mind to quit the whole blog all together… I was tired of feeling guilty. Tired of adding the blog to my “to-do” list. And becoming increasingly too tired to care.

The days and weeks seemed to speed by and then before I knew it it was my birthday… And I realized I was too busy to care about it. That was the eye-opener! I don’t ever want to have too many things on the go to not be able to stop and appreciate my life.

Blogging helps me to live in the moment — its a digital scrapbook of fun memories and funny stories that I otherwise wouldn’t remember on account of my “busy” life. Blogging also allows to me to write creatively which has always been something I love to do!

So consider this another entry into the digital scrapbook: a sushi picnic on Kits Beach just for Andrew and I.Β And I promise to make more regular entries in the days and weeks to come!

Have you ever felt like quitting something you started? What was your motivation to keep going?

9 thoughts on “that tricky life work balance thing

  1. Love the sushi picnic. What a great a to unwind and enjoy tree sunshine and each other.
    Sometimes we go through patches where we question ourselves, our blogs and our reasons for doing it. We need that break a change to help us move forward. I’m so glad you decided to stay. I always enjoy reading your diary πŸ™‚

  2. First of all, I want to compliment you on your fab taste in shows (GoT and New Girl are my top favorites too). Next, I will tell you that balancing work/life/fun is the hardest part of being an adult – or so I think. When things get crazy, it’s always a good time to re-evaluate. I have a feeling when things calm down, your blog will be a fun creative outlet again. Don’t feel bad about taking breaks – but I will love to hear about what you’ve been up to when you get back πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

