one year

DSC_3932

DSC_3910

DSC_3920

One year ago today a brightly dressed woman named Rita pronounced us husband and wife. Surrounded by only a few best friends, Andrew and I exchanged our vows. I remember laughing and crying at the same time and thinking… Holy crap this is actually happening… 

Still, I managed to get through our impromptu ceremony and as much as I didn’t want it to be special (just because I still wanted my big white “real” wedding to be my special wedding day) it was special. I couldn’t deny it. I don’t think I have ever felt so in the moment… so present within my own life. Time seemed to slow down and for a second it was just our little group standing in front of this fountain in Queen Elizabeth Park bearing witness to the unbreakable bond Andrew and I were making. Was I scared? No. In fact, I never got cold feet. Instead I remember looking at Andrew and thinking: I can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with you.

Hard to believe its been a whole year… and I don’t know whether going forward we’ll celebrate this wedding anniversary or the date of our formal wedding ceremony this summer. People always ask and I never have a good answer.

To be honest, Andrew and I will probably end up celebrating both… each different and special in their own way.

To watch the cute home video that captured our day click here.

DSC_3909
DSC_3960
DSC_3963
DSC_3990
DSC_3980

10 thoughts on “one year

  1. Ashly and Andrew! I just watched your video…it was wonderful, thank you for sharing. I saw fun, laughter, love and tears…all the things that will continue to be a recipe for a successful marriage and live filled with love and blessings. Happy “1 Year Before the Epic Wedding Celebration”!

    Can’t wait until this summer!

    Love you both,
    Aunt Karla

  2. The day at the fountain will always be “the” anniversary, but like you said, you will celebrate both for different reason. Your other wedding will be like a renewing of the vows… On earlier than usual.

Leave a Reply

