What I took away from an evening with Oprah

IMG_3137

Last Thursday, I shared an amazing experience with 18,000 other people: I saw Oprah speak at Rogers Arena to a sold out crowd. When I received some last minute tickets through work (I screamed with excitement, disbelief, denial and then utter happiness) I didn’t really know what to expect. I knew it would be great, but I didn’t realize how great.

She shared her life story– how she got into broadcasting and television, and what she’s learned about life a long the way. She shared with us her ups and downs through TV footage, old photographs, quotes and humour. She was humble and yet powerful on stage; she captivated everyone in the arena. There were a few things she said that I’ve thought about over the past weekend that I wanted to share with you. And I am paraphrasing because I didn’t actually record her, but here goes…

1. “There is no such thing has failure…” – you must fail sometimes in order to get you to that next step. If we are able to look at everything as a learning experience, then the word failure looses its power. Therefore, being scared of failure is no longer a real fear. Every trial in your life brings you closer to the person you are meant to be. It’s like the saying goes, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

2. “Life first speaks to you in whispers. Things don’t happen out of the blue.” – Listen to your gut. Whether it’s the hairs standing on the back of your neck when you realize you’re in a situation you shouldn’t be in, or when its the voice in your head that tells you to go for it even if your decision is at odds with the people around you. If you ‘hear’ some force inside you telling you to do something, don’t wait for it to shout… because by that time it may be too late.

3. “It’s not luck, its preparation meeting the moment of opportunity.” – Never again feel guilty when someone tells you you are so lucky to get that promotion at work. Or you are so lucky you get to go on that vacation. The truth is your lucky because you prepared yourself for that moment. Maybe you worked really hard and your boss noticed so when it came time for a promotion your name was brought up. Or maybe you cut out manicures for a year and instead of spending the money you saved, you put it towards a dream vacation and flew to Mexico for cheap. When life drops something into your lap, you’re only lucky if you were prepared to receive it and know what to do with it.

Thanks to Vanessa for helping me to remember all of Oprah’s great quotes and big ideas that night. Visit Vanessa’s post at the blog modernmixvancouver.com for more coverage on Oprah’s evening in Vancouver.

9 thoughts on “What I took away from an evening with Oprah

  1. Having read this I thought it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this short article
    together. I once again find myself personally spending way
    too much time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  2. Hello superb website! Does running a blog similar to this require a lot of
    work? I’ve very little knowledge of coding however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject nevertheless I just wanted to ask. Kudos!

    • Thanks Selena! Running a blog takes more work than you think. No need to know much about coding if you use a free site like WordPress. Its almost like filling in a facebook profile– user friendly with lots of options to still make your blog look and feel like you. If you have a passion to share what you love with friends I highly recommend giving a blog a try! Let me know if you do!

Leave a Reply

