Feeling Fierce: I succumbed to the peplum

Blazer: Thrifted, Peplum Blouse: H&M, Necklace: Anthropologie, Trousers: Winner’s, Flats: Winner’s

So that’s it… I gave in. I tried on the year’s one trend I thought would never work for me and I ended up loving it! I was out shopping withย Holly one evening in a mad panic about what I would wear for my engagement photos (don’t worry I found something— and no I did not wear this peplum top)… and Holly insisted I try on a peplum blouse just to give it a try.

As much as I thought it would make me look frumpy (I believe I have what Glamour Magazine would call a pear shaped body) it actually made me look lady-like. It cinch’s the waist in the right place and is actually sort of… (dare I say it)… slimming.

Best of all this trend cost me only $20 at H&M… you know the price you are supposed to pay for a trend thats fun but may not be around for long.

Has anyone else bought a peplum blouse this season? Do you love it? Or is it just a fad for fall?

I couldn’t find this H&M top on their website to link to, but the store has tons of peplum tops right now in all different colors and textures. Check it out if you’re interested!

7 thoughts on “Feeling Fierce: I succumbed to the peplum

  1. I love that top, would be perfect for a night out I have coming up soon, but sadly they don’t seem to stock it on the UK H&M site. Will try other Peplum styles though, as I’m pear shaped too and assumed they wouldn’t suit, but maybe they will after all! thanks for posting, x

    • You should! The trick is to make sure the top is loose in the middle rib section (right before it cinch’s the natural waist). That way it makes us pear shaped ladies look like we have a tiny middle area and hides the hips or lower wider bottom ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. you look so cute Ash! i did buy a peplum top that i wear a lot, it’s black and looks like yours except for the top part in front and back is black lace and there’s a sweetheart neckline where the other material starts. so i think it’s two trends in one, peplum and lace. hopefully we get a lot of use out of them!

Leave a Reply

