day 30: the end!

T-shirt: Urban Outfitters, Jeans: Levi’s, Necklace: American Eagle, Glasses: Derek Cardigan from ClearlyContacts.ca

I am trying to wink in this photo, but am failing miserably…

It’s the end of an era! Well no, not really. But it is the end of Holly and I’s 30 for 30 challenge. I am happy, relieved and excited its over.

I am looking forward to accessing the rest of my closet… to not taking my photo everyday (props to style bloggers for doing this!), and looking forward to going shopping!

As for what I will buy now that it’s over? Well, to tell you the truth I’ve already treated myself to the in stride jacket from lululemon. I’ve had my eye on for a while. I’ve wanted a great zip up jacket from lululemon since my university days, but I never bought one because I thought they were too expensive. And then I realized I am a grown woman with a full-time job and I am tired of not buying things that I really want, or have wanted for several years because they are too expensive (within reason of course). Because most of the time I end up buying cheap substitutes that I don’t love… and then after buying the cheap substitutes year after year I’ve basically bought the more expensive item I loved a couple of times over. I understand that most of us need the large amount of money up front to purchase these expensive investment pieces, but with the money I’ve saved by doing this 30 for 30 challenge I realized I could afford the lululemon jacket.

I think that’s one important thing to take away from this 30 for 30 challenge: your closet should be quality over quantity. Buy the things you want and love. Don’t buy something just because its ok…. or it works. If you have to pay a little more for something you will love for years to come then pay the money upfront and stop lusting after it. It’s far better to have a closet with fewer items but items you absolutely love, as opposed to a closet with a ton of items but nothing that you can’t wait to wear.

4 thoughts on “day 30: the end!

  1. Congrats on completing your challenge! What a great lesson you got out of it – I always try to remember “quality over quantity”, but sometimes I still end up witha bunch of cheap stuff instead of what I really wanted.

    PS I hope you share some of the new purchases you make once you do go shopping! 😉

Leave a Reply

