day 17: fake it until you make it

Shirt: House of White & Black, Pencil Skirt: GAP, Flats: Winners, Necklace: Anthropologie

Click here to see Holly’s 30 for 30 outfits!

“I pretended to be somebody I wanted to be until finally I became that person. Or he became me.” –Cary Grant

That is my new favorite quote… sometimes I feel like I make all these lists in my head about things I want to do or wish I did. But they’re just lists on paper.

My new initiative: I am going to try actively to be the person I see myself as. I don’t think I can call myself someone in their early twenties anymore and I find my values, goals and motivations constantly changing as I transition into someone in their late twenties. I no longer want the exact same things as I did when I was 22. And I believe my new roles as a newlywed and in a new career are contributing to this realization that this image I have of the best me is becoming very fluid. But as long as I believe in it, maybe I can get other people to believe it too.

In other words: I am going to fake it until I make it.

Leave a Reply

