Officially day 1: heatwave

So I decided to make today officially day 1 so that way Holly (my partner in crime over at the blog Close to my Heart) and I could start and end our 30 for 30 challenge together! So here goes…

Tank: Plenty, Necklace: American Eagle, Shorts: Gap

To check out Holly’s Day 1 outfit click here!

This is summer to me: barefoot, no make up, shorts and a tank top; with a sun-kissed look that isn’t out of a lotion bottle, but from the mighty sun herself. I love summer. And I love the heat wave the Northwest Coast is getting right now.

I’m spending the holiday long weekend up in the Comox Valley, on Vancouver Island with Andrew’s side of the family. And while our weekend has been filled with frolf (that’s frisbee golf), swimming in the ocean, tubing down a river and barbecuing fresh salmon, I’ve also spent a lot time explaining what exactly a 30 for 30 challenge is… and what’s the point of it all.

Here’s the thing, some people find 30 items of clothing to be A LOT of clothing (and it kind of is!)… some people think it doesn’t count as a challenge because I am not including shoes, or work-out clothes into my “30,” (who cares? It’s my challenge. I get to pick the rules) and some people think that no shopping for 30 days is a piece of cake (I wish it was). Translation– some people don’t think this is a challenge at all. And if it’s not for you, I applaud you. But understand, for me, it actually is…

Think of this way… some people are addicted to chocolate, some people are addicted to exercise, some people drink two bottles of wine every night before they go to bed. Well I’m here to tell you I am slightly, but not so slightly, addicted to shopping. It’s something I think about constantly. There is always something “I want,” or “I need.” But the truth is I don’t need it , or even really want it. This 30 for 30 challenge is a challenge for me because it makes me realize that I don’t need to go shopping to have fun, and I don’t need to think about it constantly. By the way, pinterest makes this way harder…

So there you go, if you don’t see it as a challenge, that’s ok! You can still read my blog and see my outfits every day. And if you do see this is as a challenge… then to you I say… I understand how you feel and I hope that you might one day want to try this challenge for yourself in some form or another. Change the rules to suit you! I don’t care. It’s only important that you care and you challenge yourself.

Ok, I am done being preachy now, I promise.

6 thoughts on “Officially day 1: heatwave

  1. I could do never do this challenge, which is all the more reason to be day give it a go. I used to be the sort that could give shopping a miss, Now, I am the queen. I must say in the last few years I have tried to buy more the wardrobe as a whole than just whatever I wanted – didn’t really need much. Now, the middle of winter would be the best time, as I am only wearing about 30 items. Come summer and I just love those pretty clothes that come out. Till you what, I’ll go through what I ahve been wearing over the last couple of months and see how close I am to 30 already. Good luck and I look forward o seeing what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

