a premature quarter-life crisis

Over the weekend I turned 25! Andrew surprised me with yellow roses and a very delicious carrot cake from Whole Foods. On Thursday, we went and saw This American Life’s live movie/theatre production titled: This American Life-You Can’t Do This On The Radio. It’s my favorite podcast and I totally geeked out! Andrew’s not a huge fan but I’ve made him listen to so many of the episodes over time, he’s come to appreciate it.

On Friday we celebrated the big day with some Karaoke. Sadly I don’t have any pictures of my amazingly terrible rendition of Tina Turner’s “Private Dancer” (my new favorite go-to karaoke song), but that’s probably a good thing.

Turning 25 has made me reflect on the  past year. 24 was a year of major ups and downs… I started over with a new city, got a pay cut when I went from working full time at age 23 to a part time job, got engaged, got married, got a full time job again, started my application for Canadian permanent residence and learned the hard way that money doesn’t grow on trees…

It feels like everything turned out as it was supposed to, but at the beginning of my 24th year I was scared, frustrated and feeling a little clueless. For that reason I truly believe the dreaded quarter year life crisis came one year early for me. So I look forward to 25 with a severe amount of optimism.

While reading the blog Born At Twenty Five by Danasia, I was struck by the honesty and clarity of a blogpost all about what she would tell her 20 Year Old Self if she could. It inspired me to think what I would tell myself if I could go back just one year!!! Here’s what I would say…

1. Take your tax return and open up an RRSP or something… don’t waste it away on clothes, or vacations or whatever else I did that summer.

2. Stop measuring your success by comparing yourself to friends’ lives on facebook. For every former high-school classmate who already makes six-figures  and owns a house in their early twenties, there is another classmate working at Starbucks, and figuring out what they want to do with their lives.

3. Start applying for your Canadian Permanent Residence NOW. Don’t put it off… you’ll save yourself a load of stress. Applications for just about everything always take a lot longer to process than we’d like.

4. Stop being so impatient. Things will come to you when you are ready to handle them. AND you’ll appreciate what comes to you more when it does happen, because you did have to wait.

5. Don’t forget to stop and appreciate what you DO have. Time spent counting what you DON’T have is time wasted and memories lost.

7 thoughts on “a premature quarter-life crisis

  1. I love #2 – I was just thinking about this the other day (again, for the umpteenth time!) I may not be where I want to be, but I’m hope there’s a lot of people who are farther behind than I am!
    Here’s to us being 25 – the best years of our life our ahead of us! 😉 xo

  2. Happy Birthday! I love this post! I can really relate to your number 2 on your list. Facebook has caused me to have moments of jealousy because my life doesn’t compare to others. I constantly remind myself that my life is awesome and that everyone has there own path. The beautiful thing is, we are still super young and our entire lives are ahead of us! Let’s live it up!

Leave a Reply

